Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Droop without ride plate

moneysucker
    A friend of mine is buying one of my droops and I have never run one without a ride plate. He has a charger style boat, Not sure the manufacturer since I have not seen it in a couple years. It is a semi V bottom and he will have a place diverter and is buying my place droop and I was wondering if it will help or hurt his performance. I would not want to sell him something that will cause him to have to machine the intake and add a shoe and ride plate to run the part correctly. He is slow enough getting on the water as it is. Thanks, I have never tried this on anything before and figured someone on here could enlighten me with their experience. Thanks
    Cy

I'll put up my experience with the PD droop. I used one on my boat prior to setback, shoe, and rideplate. It helped on my boat, but there are no guarantees that it'll work on you friend's hull. It'll have to be a try and see thing. If he's really a pal, let him try it first to see what it'll do for him. He's going to wanna try some wedging both up and down. Mine liked 4 degrees up, but his may be different. If you can scrape up a good selection of wedges 1, 2, 4, degrees he could try different combinations. If you can find the plastic ones he can stack em without having to use gaskets in between. I set mine up with some allthread so I didn't have to buy a bunch of different length bolts.
    Obviously he'd get better results and tunability with the shoe and plate, but it's possible that it'll work to some degree without the rest of the hardware.
    Dan

kojac