Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Help with lifting boat off trailer, any ideas??

Da-Bull
    :idea: I have a Brendella runner-bottom that I need to take off the trailer to have some fab work done on the trailer. The boat still has the engine in it, am I going to have to pull the motor to lighten it up? I don't have anywhere to float it, the repairs to the trailer are going to take about 3 weeks. Any ideas? I would like to be able to lift it and drive the trailer out from underneath it. I am fairly new to the flat-bottom scene and any advise would be greatly appreciated.

Terminal Velocity
    will it fit in your garage straight in? If so, you could try and slide it back off the trailer a few feet enough to get a jack and 4x4 under the transom to lift the tail off the trailer then put stands on both sides with 4x4's to support it. then move the jack under the trailer somwhere to jack up the nose enough to roll the trailer forward until you hit a crossmember, set another jackstand and move the jack, then repeat until the trailer is out. Reverse process to reinstall.
    Kind of a pain and make sure you have some help but it can be done. When you do the nose piece you would want to "v" the 4x4 to support the keel on both sides and to help keep the boat level.
    It's a thought.
    Take care and good luck.

The first time I needed to get the boat off the trailer. I built a dolly out of wood. Built the bunks the same height as the trailer & slid it off. I would recomend pulling the moter if possible. makes the whole deal a bunch easier.
    2ea. 10' 4x4's
    2ea. 12' 2x6's
    1ea. 1/2" sheet plywood.
    4ea. casters.
    Bunch o screws.
    I built a steel dolly for the current boat. Same deal just slide off & on. I can not tell you how much nicer it is to work on a flatt bottom without the fenders in the way.
    I have heard the method T.V. sugested works well. I was just to ascared.

Terminal Velocity