Thread: My Water Stinks... Help!!!

BadBahner
    I am new to needles and when the water sits in the water for a few weeks between visits it really stinks when I run the hot water. Is this something I can prevent? The water heater and pipes are all new. I even have a whole house filter on my main but still I get the funk...
    Is there a way to fix this besides draining the whole tank everythime I go there?
    Thanks,
    Eric

Jrocket
    I think its from the chemicals in the water that build up over time.Plus thats not the freshest water to start with.Just run the water for a few minutes when you first get there and it should be good for the time your there,I would imagine.Thats what we do at a friends place on Parker.

mickeyfinn
    There is a sacrificial cathode in your hot water heater to prevent the tank from corroding and rusting out. Typically they are magnesium I believe. That will give the odor you are describing sometimes when it combines with other minerals. Don't drain it before you leave though. Drain it as soon as you get their and wait on it to warm up. Leaving the tank empty will have a huge impact on its lifespan.

bohica
    Are you turning the water heater off when you leave. I used to and it would stink like rotten eggs the next time I went up. I leave the water heater on now and no more smell.

Mandelon
    If the filter takes out the chlorine then you can get organic growth. Is the water off color?

TheLurker
    I had the same problem. Drained the water every time I went out. Shut off the heat to the heater etc. The smell would return over time. Put in a new water heater, still had the smell. Tried a new water softener. It didn’t make any difference to the smell but the water is a lot nicer. Very hard water out there.
    I read the information that came with the water heater. It said if you have a sulfur smell in the hot water. and it specifically mentioned "Sulfur Smell"