Thread: Don't throw away your WJ!

beached1
    I was under the belief that all Jacuzzi's are piles of crap. Even though mine was a mixed flow, I was fixing to get a WJ energizer kit for my boat this winter. I have a lot of experience with PWC jets and a pretty good working knowledge of what makes them work. So, I decided to mess with mine to see what I could do since I was changing it out anyway. I chucked the bowl up in my Lathe and started to bore out the nozzle because I'm using a Place diverter. As most of you know, this comes with an adapter that bolts onto the diverter and the four bolt pattern of the WJ bowl. The problem is that the Place diverter IS the nozzle for any other aplication, but the WJ has a nozzle that is part of the cast of the bowl. Therefore, when you bolt on a Place Diveter to a stock WJ, you are seriously affecting the efficiency of you jet drive system. After I bored the bowl, I fabricated a stuffer out of billet aluminum.It was then I realized that I may be in way over my head. I have read many positive things about a Jet pump shop called MPD from people I have never met but respect their opinions based on their posts/replys in this forum. So I decided to take it to MPD to see what they think of my pump and what I should do. I was very pleased to hear that Jacuzzi WJ's aren't as bad as many people think. Jack told me that a slightly modified WJ can be as efficient as any of the other mixed flow pumps out on the market. In fact, he confirmed my suspicion that the impeller was the main flaw of the design.