Page 1 of 7 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Pump is not cooling engine

Statue
    Guys, I'm new to jets...... 21' 1977 charger mini day cruiser, 460 Ford Berkeley pump. was a freseh motor until about a week ago. I have overheated it for the last time. There is NO water coming from the pump to the engine. When the boat is turned off, water flows freely through the barb fitting on the pump, but nothing when it's running. I am stumped and real temped to convert the boat to an outboard. I like the ride and hulldesign but have just about had it with the problems. Any help is appreciated.
    thanks, wes

DeputyDawg
    I'm not sure I understand what you are trying to say. When you said that with the motor off water flows freely from the barb on the pump what do you mean? If the jet pump isn't spinning it can't be flowing water. Or are you saying that you unhooked the supply line from the jet pump and hooked up a hose to it and it flowed through fine, but when it is hooked up to the pump and running in the water it isn't moving water? If that is the case pull the bowl off the pump and have a look around, something is clogging it up in there blocking off the supply outlet.

bakerjet
    thats pretty weird! need to check out your pump fo sho get some pics. of your impeller thru the suction piece and lets start there lots of good info here you'll figure it out,but don't go hangin a whacker on it!

Danhercules
    I'm not sure I understand what you are trying to say. When you said that with the motor off water flows freely from the barb on the pump what do you mean? If the jet pump isn't spinning it can't be flowing water. Or are you saying that you unhooked the supply line from the jet pump and hooked up a hose to it and it flowed through fine, but when it is hooked up to the pump and running in the water it isn't moving water? If that is the case pull the bowl off the pump and have a look around, something is clogging it up in there blocking off the supply outlet.