Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 460 to 454 Conversion.

abraman1326
    I own a 21 Taylor that currently has a 460 in it. I spun a bearing the last trip out, and am looking to buy a 454 for it. A little more reliable, and easier to get parts for. What all will I have to do to make this conversion? I figure I'll need a new yoke for the Jacuzzi pump, and new motor mount positions. Please give me any suggestions you may have for the conversion. This is going to be a winter project, so I am in no hurry as of yet. I am also thinking of converting to a Berk, or dominator jet, and I figured I'd just buy it ready for the chevy match up. Is there a difference in the yoke between a chevy and Ford? I am really new to this engine swap, and any help would be appreciated. Thank you in advance...
    BRA

OK ... I have made numerous conversions over the years ... mostly from Olds 455 to BBC ...
    My best advice ... buy an old POS boat ($1500 range) that has a BBC and pump in it already and steal all of the items you need ... and scrap the hull. By the time you rape the old one, sell your BBF stuff ... you'll end up saving a lot of $$$.
    You might have to travel to pick up the donor boat, and it'll most likely have an engine and pump that need to be gone through ... but you'll have all of the necessary parts to do the swap.
    This is from my past experiences ... I have found it much quicker and easier to do it like this ... I'm sure others will chime in w/ some good advice.
    Good Luck ...
    Brian

moneysucker
    Stripping another boat is the way to go. WIth the money you will spend in marine parts you will be way over what you thought. You can sell the motor and pump with the other hull as a basket case too for what you bought it for. Or sell the motor and pump seperately and junk the hull and still finish ahead.