Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: First Boat Purchase

asch
    --

bkplesh
    Hello. New guy here,
    I'm considering buying a used boat. I've been around and tinkered on my friends' boats, but never owned one. The vessel in question is approx. 21-22', jet, and looks to be a BBC under the cover. It appears to have been used regularly but I don't know how recently. The registration shows 2001 stickers while the trailer is current. I've not looked at it in detail but then again I'm not sure what I should look for as far as damage/excessive use. Any suggestions are much appreciated. Assumming all is good as far as the boat, what kinds of fees or penlaties could I be looking at if the paperwork hasn't been kept up? The owner is advertising $3,200 for it.
    Sorry bout the low res pics. I just saw it yesterday and had a quick minute to snap the pics.
    Oh yeah...would it be wise, since I have no boat buying experience to have it looked at by a local boat shop or some place that can determine its condition?
    Thanks.
    I would take it to a local boat shop!!!Then I would go drive it!!!Theres alot of thing that maybe hiden that you can't see.It's not that much money to get it looked at(maybe around 60-70)But they should tell you alot about the boat and take a friend that knows about boats.

BRAWNY
    couple of suggestions;see if the owner is willing to takeyou
    for a test ride,if he will offer him a few bucks towards gas.
    you could learn alot about that boat during a test at the lake.
    also see if he'd be willing to take care of the registration,might seem
    like alot to ask,but if he's serious about selling the boat,it shouldn't
    be to unreasonable.have fun and good luck.brawny :crossx:

BRAWNY
    I notice you're over in Norwalk? Know of any reputable boat shops in the OC/LA area?
    not to jack this thread,but what type of work are you looking for?
    one place to avoid is BOAT PLANET on rosecrans in norwalk.

a catered life