Thread: u-joint removal?

eek-a-RAT
    title says it all!
    what im sayin is, i need to remove my u-joints for replacement. i cant get the damn coupler with the joints out of the boat. i unbolted the coupler from the engine, but there is not enuff play in the slider in the spline shaft for me to take it out. i cant swivel the end on the coupler to clear the flex plate. i would say there is only @1/4 inch that i can slide it back & any pryin i try to do flexes the whole engine on the stringers. i hopin i dont have to unbolt the pump. i will cry & the rest of my boating season is over!
    do i punch out the u-joint caps with the coupler still on the engine to avoid pre-mature pump bearing failer? should i get a big c-clamp and slowly push them out. oh, by the way its a 80 sanger s-j with a bbc, and a JG pump. do yall know what part # on those u-joints. they are internally cliped type. this will help me before i got to the parts house for research. its my first time around the block on these parts. thanks. i played hookie today to fix this thing .

YeLLowBoaT
    I have in the past rented a "ball joint" press form the auto parts store for stuck unjoints. Its bascily a c clamp on roids. Even "heavy duty" c-clamps won't work if the unjoints are in there good.

Devilman
    If it's the kind of coupler that unbolts in the middle, take those bolts out as well, it should come out. That's what kind mine is & it is still kind of a pain to get it out of there. Other way I've heard is pull your motor loose & slide it forward. It would have to be on a hoist or something to that though....

eek-a-RAT