Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: HP vs. Torque

mrossum
    i have been following a thread elsewhere in this furum about how much hp it takes to spin a pump at a given rpm. my question is this: if i have a panther pump that won't spin a whole lot of rpm anyways, why wouldn't the torque number be more important to me than HP?
    at the lower rpm's, the torque is doing the work. at least that is how i was taught when building engines. if you look at the graph of a dyno pull, the torque curve and hp curve intersect at some point. anything to the left of that point represents torque working, and anything to the right represents the hp working. i am by no means an expert, but this is how i was taught.

steelcomp
    HP and torque are just words to identify a work force. It's the work force that's doing the work, not hp, and not torque. It makes no difference where they cross, because if you call them somehthing else, they may cross in a completely different place...just depends on the converson factor. (look at metric power conversions) Torque is basically a stationary work force...hp is torque which has been converted to relate to time and distance (RPM) using a conversion factor. They're both basically saying the same thing. Because of the conversion factor (and nothinig else) hp and torque cross at 5250rpm. Below that, torque will always be higher than hp, and above, the opposite. That's why it "seems" as if lower rpm is torque related, and high rpm is hp related. It's only a function of math, not the work force being applied.
    Hope that helps a little.

Duane HTP
    Good answer. You stopped this argument dead in it's tracks.

cfm
    On the subject but off the subject (subject is drag racing - not boats - but may give us some better thought)) - just a quote we should all read and think about. Kinda put a different twist on things:
    Darin Morgan writes: