Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 100 Octane Low Lead??

Zaairman
    So my neighbor is letting me keep my beloved Tahiti in his airplane hangar. Come to find out, aviation gas is 100 octane low lead. Now, my motor is a 1973 Chrysler 130 HP two stroke, so I'm guessing that it will be ok to run on leaded. Right? Sure, it's $4 a gal, but I just want to try it...once. Ok, maybe twice :220v: Could I harm anything by doing this? Anything special I should do if I run the gas as in extra oil, etc?

copterzach
    I run AV Gas in my jetboat. I add 4 oz. Marvel Mystery oil per 10 gallons. Tha gas is very dry. I have been running it for 3 years on prob.

LakeTrash
    Any octane rating over 87 is a waste of money and will most likely lower your power level in a two stroke with 115 lbs of compression.
    You could get your dog to piss in the tank and that ole 130 Chrysler would burn it just fine.
    LT

W.O.T
    yeah i dont think that high octane is going to much for an older motor like that. 91 octane at best

mach1alaska
    h 100LL avgas has about 9 times more lead than leaded autogas ever had, it is just lower than the old higher lead avgas.
    I think it would be a waste of money for for your outboard unless you have considerably increased the compression. the old chrysler OB work best on about 87 octane.

Towndrunk
    I hate av gas. I don't know if it was just my sucky luck but I tried running it to see if it would make a difference in the way my allison ran and the thing stuck a piston after I switched it on. Haven't touched it since and won't reccomend it to anyone.

stoker2001