Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 871 vs 1471 blower?

jeffroe
    i have a guy who wants to trade my intercooled 871 blower for his intercooled 1471 blower. i have a 468bbc w/oval port cast heads, 7.5 compression and turns a AA impeller about 6500rpm. would this blower be over kill for a lower rpm motor, i have to run my 871 about 1 to 1 to make 8psi i would guess the 1471 would trun alot slower to make the same?

QuickJet
    I've a had a couple blowers and was lead to believe that the bigger units are more efficient therefore make more power. Even at the same or a tad lower boost levels. I'm no expert though. Might want to post this in the blower section of this forum (if you havn't already)

jeffroe
    yes i posted the question on the blower forum as well.

P-Money
    Well, if your not interesting, I am. I've got an 8-71 I would love to trade for a 14.

jeffroe
    it just makes me nervous when someone offers a better deal than what i have it doesn't usually work that way for me.

BAE_557
    It all depends on what type of 871 blower you have and what type of blower the 1471 might be. Possibilities are: hi-helix, billet rotors, front discharge, small top opening, billet case, aluminum case, mag case, polished, back gear, hard anodized, etc.

superdave013
    it just makes me nervous when someone offers a better deal than what i have it doesn't usually work that way for me.
    bingo!
    That 14-71 must be one worked over mutha. Why else would he want to down grade? Unless of course he's wanting to use it in a car with clearance problems.

jeffroe
    he's got another jet boat that he wants to keep the blower under the rear cover.

sdba069
    The 14 is only 3 inches longer than the 8 with the same height dimension. Keep in mind that if you make the change, an offset distributor drive is necessary. Also, they use the same intercooler.

Marty Gras