Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: out of state diesels any different?

I have been looking for months on what truck to buy. I have heard that all seem to be ok , but i have been reading the FORD is a big no no being engine troubles. DURAMAX is awsome but expensive. I have been set on the DODGE mega cab 4x4. I am a resident of CAL. (near lodi) but parents are res of oregon. besides for the reg and no tax on veh. Is the truck the same . or is CAL sent its own trucks due to tight smog. I also heard 06' may be last of the good ones or is there a diff with the 07' dealers say no but you know that just want to sell a truck...... please help :idea:

vee-driven
    i have an 05 lly duramax and i love it and the chevy has the best ride and interior and allison trans. ford has engine and trans problems, dodge has trans and electrical problems. i know these for a fact. as for buying outta state i think you have to have a certain amount of miles on it to reg. in california. as for tax and license i am sure cal. dmv. will nail you eventually. i think most cars trucks are made to follow california smog regulations.

i was told that dodge in 07 had got a new trans to help solve one of the problems. id love to have a duramax but 40k out the door is my limit. i havent found a gmc 4 dr with a duramax for under 43500. the dodge mega cab in oregon is 36 out the door. fords look good but there every where you look .

Run_em_Hard
    The new dodge with the 6.7 has a new tranny too match. Makes the allison look like a honda tranny. I think that the new set-up might be 2007.5 but not for sure. 95% of people drive the Chev on here so just buy what you want.

vee-driven
    The new dodge with the 6.7 has a new tranny too match. Makes the allison look like a honda tranny. I think that the new set-up might be 2007.5 but not for sure. 95% of people drive the Chev on here so just buy what you want.
    there must be a reason for 95% us driving chevys?

IMPATIENT 1