Thread: Decisions Decisions!

Professor GT
    Okay, so I'm new to all this sort of thing.
    Actually back in the mid 80's I has an 18' Checkmate with a Black Max 175. It was fun. I bought it with the engine in a box, and rebuilt the whole mess. I learned to ski behind it and had a blast.
    Now I'm a lot older and I just picked up a 1986 19' Sea Ray Pachanga with a blown up 4.3L Mercruiser/Alpha. My question is this: I want the boat for general enjoyment and to teach my young kids to ski. From what I understand, the 4.3 is good enough power wise to have lots of fun skiing. Since the water pump failed and the motor was over heated and now knocks, should I just refurb the 4.3L or should I swap it over to a SBC V-8? Is this an easy swap, or is it too much of a headache for the cost and amount of work involved. Will it consume a lot more fuel or will the boost in power even things out?
    Sorry to sound like such a neophyte. I've build many an automotive engine, but I'm just not too familiar with the marine side of things.
    Thanks!

SmokinLowriderSS
    A small chevy V-8 will bolt in on the same mounts as I understand, COULD need some more room in front of it tho for the extra 2 cylinders, measure carefully before jumping. Just depends how close to the pulleys your engine area is. I suspect it'll fit as the SBC was likely a factory option.
    Yea, it'll burn more gas, but shouldn't a LOT more,and I would go to a 350, no smaller, just to make the step worthwhile. Be ready to have to spend time re-tuning props too. The V-8 will be able to use a lot more prop than the 4.3L. If you plan on skiing 2 at a time (let alone 3), go V-8 IMO.
    Also you will likely need to think about expanding the air inlet to the engine comartment, to insure the V-8 gets enough air to breathe. I have seen some pretty cranped bays arround the 4.3's... and I have seen some run better with the cover open than shut (that's pretty damn restrictive to me).