Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What to do, leaky jet

thatguy
    Need some advice.
    I have a 79 Miller 19.5' Ski-Jet. Bought it this fall and drove it once. Boat is in beautiful condition. Really flawless inside and out. This is my second 79' Miller and this boat is twice the condition as my last one. My problem is this.
    I pulled the 454 and am almost done w/ the rebuild. Last week I put the hull in the water for about 30 minutes to fix a board that was loose on the trailer. When I loaded the boat back up, I had about 3" of water in the back, all the way up to the front motor plate mounts when sitting at angle on the ramp. I inspected the bottom and can see no leak point around the intake. The paint is perfect all around the grate. I think the leak is at the back of the intake adapter where it is hard to see. I am going to pull the jet and transom plate, but I have never done it before. My bowl does not have an O-ring, just silicone and it is sealed tight. What silicone do I use to reseal and what is the best way to do it? It looks professionally done now. It is a Berk 12-JC or JG, can't really tell from the tag. If I find that it needs re-sealed at the hull (grate) I would rather pay a good shop to do it. I am not a glass man and have limited time to work on it.
    I read the Berk re-build section at CP, but it is not detailed enough. I am capable, having been a machinist and building race cars for 2 decades, but have never done this.
    Any help or reassurance is appreciated. Also, any shop recommendations in Sacramento or Redding? I live in Redding and drove by the couple shops that would do it, but they looked like backyard operations and I was uncomfortable leaving my baby there. So, is it easy to do?

Goad
    since you have the motor out....i would park it on a dry surface and fill the bildge up with a few inches of water.....that way you can find out where its leaking from.

Unless you have a set back pump, never use silicone to