Page 1 of 9 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Boatshow prices and "previously owned" prices

Chipster27
    I've been monitoring the spam section for several months now and everyone keeps saying "wait until the boat show and someone sees what a new one goes for, they will be all over ___________'s boat".
    I find it a little hard to believe that the mfgr isn't feeling the pain too. Their sole purpose in life is to move boats, when the market was hot they were able to command a premium. I'm sure that even they realize the market has slowed so why would they not adjust their price to the market, just like the "re-sale" boats have to?
    They have overhead to cover, a P&L to make and product to move. They probably have a more vested interest in selling a boat than the "re-sale" market does.
    Am I out of my mind? It's supply and demand. Right now there is a lack of demand...and the market (new or used) has to adjust to it.

phebus
    It will be interesting to see, if hard times come to the boating industry, what companies fold. Some of the renowned boats, might not have the most stable financial base, and the rob Peter to pay Paul strategy, might be their undoing.

Mandelon
    I think they are playing the wait and see game. They will find out at the show how things are going to be.
    There is no doubt that the home appreciation that has fueled sales for the past few years is over. Hopefully the builders who have been selling boats at a good premium banked a little bit of that money and didn't blow it all on new Rhinos and motorhomes.....
    If sales are slow, they likely will lower prices to get things going. but the prices of new boats is retarded, simply out of hand over the top. I think the used market has a lot of good values right now.

FASTJTBT
    Has anyone picked up a boat trader lately its as thick as a phone book.

Havasu1986