Thread: JL Audio Amp Gurus Needed- Tuning?

davis777
    I need some help tuning my newly intsalled JL Audio system. I am a detailed installer, just not good at setting all the amps controls.
    Here is the set up:
    450/4 running two sets of JL Audio Marine conponent seperates- Front and Rear- They sound killer
    Out of the 450/4 pre amp output I have connected a 300/2 running another set of JL Audio Marine component seperates- They sound OK, not great??
    Out of the Clarion CMD4 sub outputs I have a 500/1 and a W612- Perfect
    Here is the question- I just added the 300/2 and another set of seperates, I know that amp has plenty of power for those seperates, yet they dont seem to perform or have the clarity that the two sets running off the 450/4 have.
    Any Ideas as to why the new 300/2 connected to the 450/4 doesnt pound?
    Thanks,
    R

jbone
    Since none else answered. I'm no JL guru, but I have JL amps myself. Mine all get a direct signal from the RCA's off the deck, so I don't know how using the preamp outputs affect anything.
    Did you run sufficient power and ground cables to the new amp?
    The settings should be the same at the the other amp, except maybe the gains.
    Also speaker location and type of space behind the speaker can affect sound quality.
    J

Jesster
    Check the gains and make sure they are up high enough. If they are use one of the preouts from the head unit directly to the amp to see if if makes a difference if it does you know where the problem is. If it doesnt make a difference its probably the amp, could be the speakers though. Have you heard the speakers connected to anything else, did they sound ok? Since they are seperates they have a crossover somewhere, is it hooked up right, sometimes its easy for them to be connected wrong. I havent used JL seperates before so am not familiar with the crossovers. Hope that helps.

ROZ
    Things to check: