Thread: flex plate vs flywheel

billet racing 1
    Switching to a top mount starter. Requires me to switch to a fly wheel also. This is in a jet boat. May cause me to move the engine foreward 1/2" also.
    Would use an aluminum fly wheel, with the ring gear moved to the outside.
    Pros/cons
    Jerry

billet racing 1
    Nobody has an opinion on this?
    Jerry

supersoaker509
    I switched from a standard starter to a top mount starter with a flex plate with no problem, motor stayed the same.

SmokinLowriderSS
    I've been running a top-mount starter with a flexplate since 1978, not a single problem.
    WHY is the starter location forcing you to change plates? It shouldn't.

G-Body
    My dads Taylor SS has a 454 with a topmount starter and a flexplate. We haven`t had any problems yet.

SmokinLowriderSS
    Nobody has an opinion on this?
    Jerry
    As far as pros/cons:
    Pro: MIGHT smooth out engine idle a tad.
    Reduces RPM jump if you get airborne before pedaling the throttle.
    Con: increases time for the engine to spool up when you stomp it.
    SHOULD deserve a rebalance but you might get away without it.

DelawareDave
    Since I am an uninformed boater, take this with a grain of salt! Back when I had a Chevy engine with a top mount starter, the ring gear was moved towards rear face of the flywheel, whereas it was originally on the front edge, with a block mounted starter. I can see where you may have to move the engine forward, to make up the difference in thickness of the flywheel, vs the flexplate, to maintain some clearance at the input of the pump. One of my spare engines has a 1/4" spacer between the flexplate and the PTO to make up the difference of the flywheel thickness vs flexplate thickness. Changing to a flywheel would not require relocating the engine, in my case.