Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Ignition timing for BBC

Badburn
    I thought I'd ask for some opinions on this. I swapped in two HEI distributors into my boat which has 2 -350 horse 454's in it. Set the total advance at 38, and forgot about them. I typically cruise at about 2500-3000 rpm with the throttle about 1/2-2/3 open. What I am wondering is, should all the advance be in at this rpm, or do we think that it needs a little less to avoid detonation while under this fairly heavy load?:idea:
    I will be doing some cruising this year the motors will be left at this speed for several hours at a time, want to make sure things are working efficiently, and motor friendly

lilrick
    I'm no expert , but I would back the timing off a little for that extra insurance. IMO 38* is a lil aggressive. The only way to know when your timing is coming in is to have somebody spin um on a machine and check um...{I think} It's alot cheaper to be sure than guess.

DMOORE
    I would say 38 sounds a bit high also. I know a lot of guys set thiers at 36 total. Use a timing light and a friend with the boat in neutral, and you should be able to see at what rpm's it hits fully advanced.
    Darrell.

Badburn
    I'm not sure that its all the way advanced to 38* at 3000 rpm, I'm gonna check though. The distributors have mechanical advances in them, no vacum advance. I think if you bring the advance in too soon under a heavy load it can detonate or ping. hmmm.......

WETTE VETTE