Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Too Much Octane???

tittyman
    454, dual carbs, 12:1...10 gallon tanks..if you run straight race fuel 110..is that too much octane and can cause the motor to not run as well..Second Question..if it is, about what octane level would be best (mixing 110 with 92)..

VDRIVERACING
    More octane means a higher temperature needed to ignite it, that's why it's less likely to pre-ignite(detonate), but never heard of that downgrading performance. I AM NOT AN EXPERT, but my experience is that it's just a matter of safely running the least octane needed to save cost.
    12:1 is pretty high, and the engine builders I know advise against mixing fuels (although you'll no doubt hear that a lot of people do it). You might be OK with avgas which is 100+ octane, and keep an eye on your plugs for signs of detonation. Otherwise stick with the 110 and not worry about it.

centerhill condor
    do yourself and engine a favor...spend the money and buy the race gas. Heck at today's prices you're only adding a buck or two to the price.

tittyman
    You hear about a lot of guys mixing fuels..I was just told by a guy that has a high performance motor that you should not run 110 in a motor that could run safely on say 96-98..said it's not a good thing to do..never heard that before.
    Again if you have 12:1 what is the good octane range to be in..
    I know to some of you it sounds like a dumb question..just don't want to f**k up my motor..you guys always give good advise..this is the place to..

VDRIVERACING
    Where are you gonna find 96?

curtis73
    You're fine. A motor will start to detonate and lose power (not to mention destroy itself) if you use too little, but for all intents and purposes there is no such thing as too much.
    If you combo needs 91 for instance, it will run just as well on 91 or 110.

tittyman