Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New to Boating

adaml
    Hi all, I am fairly new to boating and very new to Jet Boats. I have a 18' Baja with a Berkley Jet 12J E or F the hand hole is outside. I would guess that the original engine was a 455 but it now has a 307 in it. I believe that I should be getting better than 42/45 out of it (not confirmed by GPS) but it does feel about right. I was hoping for some feedback and maybe some things to check for. In my opinion (wich is probably wrong) I should be getting 55 or better with this. Again I know very little about these. I am not sure what size impeller is in it, I have never had it apart (not that I would know what to look for anyway). The boat does come on to plane quickly so no problems there, anyway any help or feedback would be great.

Xlration Marine
    Up State, EH. I always wanted a jet when I lived there. I had the Raquette River in my back yard. A jet would have been nice to shoot the rapids with. If you want to see 55+ you wil need A: A bigger stock motor, or B: A whole lot of work done to the little one. If you are still around here in the Fall, post some picture of the Maple tree's. You know what I'm talking about. People out here in the South West don't know what Gods Country looks like in the Fall.

GunninGopher
    That speed is probably about right for the amount of power you are making.
    Look on the inside of the pump near the input shaft and you might see what pump model and impeller size that originally came with the boat "12JE-A" or something like that.
    If you want some advice I'd say if it is running good then enjoy the boat this summer before dicking with it too much!!
    If you want to go faster it may make more sense to sell a good running boat and then buy a good running, but faster, one. I don't know Baja's but suspect that you would probably have to spend too much to make it what you want.

MADDOG355