Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Break In Oil

RCB19
    What is the correct type of oil to use for break in on the dyno? I know not to use synthetics at first. I will be running a full roller valvetrain 260#'s seat pressure. I have always used straight 30w in the past but that was for flat tappet slider valvetrains. Is there a special oil that is used for this? Detergent/Non Detergent, straight weight multi weight, brand etc? Any help appreciated.

hotbo
    well im no expert here but i do like to use rotella 15-40.on break in with gm eos.i know they say straight weight,but i have ever done this and never had a problem.im sure some of these smarter fellas will help you more than i can.later travis

Ralph Brunt
    no need for break in with solid rolle, just dont use synthetic too slipery. i use valvoline vr 20/50

IMPATIENT 1
    well im no expert here but i do like to use rotella 15-40.on break in with gm eos.i know they say straight weight,but i have ever done this and never had a problem.im sure some of these smarter fellas will help you more than i can.later travis
    great minds think alike that's what's in the blown 475's pan as we speak!
    i used to work for a company who serviced nothing but ambulances and patrol cars. we did oil samples on the deisel pushed amb. and used castrol, delo, rotella t. we always got at least 20% less heavy metal particulates with the rotella. the stuff does the same thing is gasoline motors as well. other than race specific oils, i don't know of any other off the shelf oil that's works as good or keeps a motor as clean internally.

Ralph Brunt
    i read the reason for the rottella was for the added zinc content, and was only needed when breaking in flat or hyd tappet cams

RCB19