Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Question about welding a suction piece

ricktuttle
    Hi guys, I'm a newbie with what is probably a stupid question for most of you, but here goes....
    There is a hairline fracture in topside of my suction housing/piece about two inches up from where it mounts to the intake and it is about two inches long but doesn't go all the way through to where it can be seen on the other side like when you look at it from inside the boat. I noticed it while I was inspecting and replacing loader bolts this winter. Can this be ground out a bit and welded up? If so are there any special instructions I should tell my welder dude?

wet77
    worked on a boat last summer for a guy that had a similiar problem where the name plate on a JF Berk. mounts it cracked across and below the bearing.
    I had a friend of mine weld it up and it seemed to work fine.

wsuwrhr
    Aluminum work hardens with time.
    Your suction may have had a casting flaw that is just now showing itself.
    Aluminum can be repaired pretty easily by welding. The question is, why is it cracked in the first place.
    Keep that in mind.
    Brian

ricktuttle
    I is a very thin hairline crack and it doesn't go all the way through or extend down to the mounting area. As far as what made it crack I don't know, but I did have a loader fail, break loose and fall off the boat completely last summer and that may have contributed in some way, but we really inspected everything after that happened and believe it or not there wasn't much damage at all in the pump housing. There was just a couple of gouges about .020" deep up further in the housing but everything else looked good. I don't know if it makes any difference but this is a Dominator pump. All of this has got me wondering if I should buy a new housing?????????? :cry: