Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: small block chevy

19Kona
    just wanted to get an opinion. My uncle gave me a 1994 Caprice (ex-police car) with a retarded tranny, but a very fresh small block. I was thinking of using it to replace the "ok for now" 455 in my 19.5 foot kona - with berk jg, A imp. I mostly use the boat for skiing, boarding and just tooling around. Thanks in advance for the input.

BrendellaJet
    that probably would not be a good idea. I am no expert, but a stock small block is not capable of producing the torque necessary to get your jet boat out of the water very quickly, let alone pull a skier out with it too. With the work involved in swapping the parts, it would probably be easier to wait to rebuild the olds when the time came, or swap in a BBC if you want chevy power.

matt1
    Sorry Brendela,but a small block is very capable of pulling the jet,a skier and 4 people out of the hole with neck snaping response.At least mine does anyway,allthough not at the same time.I have an 18ft.'83 Taylor SJ small block 350 bone stock W/logs,berk 12je-a w/ manuel place diverter.From what I was told this boat is a pig (1,670lbs.W/454)But mine runs great and tops out at 60mph on the gps.

Hotcrusader76
    BrendellaJet:
    a stock small block is not capable of producing the torque necessary to get your jet boat out of the water very quickly,I agree with this statement. This motors needs to have a little more torque, otherwise you'll wish you went with the BBC or rebuild.
    It would work for you, but after all the "time" and "cash" to get the job finished...don't bother. Freshen that little SBC up, sell it...then put that sales money into something bigger...such as a BBC or stronger reliable 455
    Just my o.o2
    ~Ty
    [ October 25, 2002, 03:42 PM: Message edited by: Hotcrusader76 ]

Hotcrusader76
    19KONA,
    I gave you Five stars because your an Engineer.
    I am a wannabee Engineer...(Night Student)