Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: GPS autometer

kojac
    I called Rex Marine today about purchasing a GPS to install in a 19ft stealth tunnel jet. I am a little vague about where to mount it and how accurate they are compared to a Decauter radar gun. Jay said there are two types. One has a reciever that mounts below the deck about the size of a computer mouse and the other mounts above the deck the size of a quarter.
    I would prefer to replace the gaffrig speedometer presently in the dash and would like to avoid cutting unnecessary holes in my ride. I would appreciate any comments from fellow jetboaters that have experience with gps"s regarding installation and reliability.
    Thanks Dale.

Budweiser
    Kojac,
    I have zero experience, but have heard only good things about GPS speedometers. The Rex website has a pic of the below deck antenna but not of the above deck model. I assume it is similar if not exactly this one.

They are similar to that picture, but are larger than a quarter and white in color. I will try to get a picture up on the website soon. As far as receiver location and what works it seems to vary widely between boats. Some work fine when mounted under deck, some don't. We actually recommend that you temp wire the reciever so you can move it around and find the best reception the first time (on the Garmin mouse style).
    As far as accuracy, I know of no other speedometer that's more accurate than GPS.