Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hot Coat (Powder Coat) at home

mcshriver
    Has anyone out there tried the Eastwood Co. Hot Coat system of powder coating ? Does it last in a marine enviroment ? I've been using it for the last two years above the water line on deck hardware, But have recently coated my Place Diverter and Pump bowl and was curious if you guys had any input.

Bow Tie Omega
    My brother and I have been wondering the same thing. That would look sweet. If you do not mind me asking, how much was the Eastwood system, and what exactly is involved? Thanks...Joe
    PS...Good question, you get 5 stars
    [ January 14, 2003, 02:00 PM: Message edited by: Bow Tie Omega ]

sidewound
    Good Post,
    I can remember years ago you gould buy the stuff to do it at home and use an old oven to cure the finish. I'd like to know more. Where can I getsum? I'm bettin the technology has come a long ways since I saw it done. I think it was in the late 70's or maybe 80's. You know,the memories of those years aren't as vivid as they once were. Peace Man

Jbb
    This link will take you to harbor freights system I have one and I like a gravity fed cup better than eastwoods suction feed cup .The price on the net says $99 But the latest catalog has it for $59...hard to beat!
    Harbor Freight

miller19j
    JETBOAT BRIAN:
    This link will take you to harbor freights system I have one and I like a gravity fed cup better than eastwoods suction feed cup .The price on the net says $99 But the latest catalog has it for $59...hard to beat!
    Harbor Freight I saw that in the sale catalog and thought about buying it. I have a few questions for you. Where do you buy your powder? And where do you bake your parts, and how long at what temp?

Jbb
    I have access to a big oven at work,but most people use an old kitchen oven ...just limits the size of the piece you can do. 400 degrees for 20 min does it.