Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Optima Batteries

Taylorman
    Im thinking about buying an Optima battery. Are they worth the money? I just read about them on their web sight and looks like the blue top with dark grey case is their marine cranking battery. What do you guys think?

rivercrazy
    IMO they are worth the dough. The yellow top and blue top are the same with exception of the terminals. The blue top has both the traditional stud type and also the wing nut connections. There is a marine starting and marine deep cycle. The starting is a light grey case, the deep cycle is the dark grey case. Deep cycles will also start you boat without problems. If your gonna be running stereo with decent power get the deep cycle, otherwise the starting battery will do you fine wink

TANK
    I have no experience with the marine optimas,but if they are the same quality as the automotive ones they are worth the money.We have had one in our tow truck for about two years and I have put it through hell and it has always come through for me.TANK

boatlessd
    I had one in my car with stereo running over 1000 watts with an over 80amp drain and never had a problem with recharging. They are pretty amazing batteries.

lilrick
    I have one in my boat in AZ and seems to withstand heat well unlike most other bats, I'm happy.

Liberator TJ1984
    I have units that are run in severe heat and vibrations here in the oilfield end of things and switched to Optimas after repeat failures by other brands......the Optima batteries are proven and tested...the only problem I've seen is a friend went to recharge one too fast and left charger on all night..burned up cells...probably 75% of boaters down here run them including myself...from what stands,yes they are worth the cost...

stressedout
    I have been runnin the same optima battery in my hydro since 94, I think it's one of the first ones made. It's an awsome battery, well worth the extra money.It never discharges.

PussyPusher