Thread: just another newbee

cheech
    i am new to the water world, what would the diff. be between tuning a motor for a boat (bbc). do i run the total timming the same as a car or will the motor take more (it is hard to here or feel the ping). do i build the motor for low end (3500 to 5500) power band or can i build motor power from 4500 to 7000 and then just use nitros to get me from 2500 7000. what does the pump like ( what will the pump do). if i use an impeller that lugs the motor at 4500 will i overspeed the impeller

Jet City
    Since nobodies jumping on this I'll add what I know, as far as timing is concearned you would generally use a tad less than in a hot-rod since the engine is under constant load. I myself see no gain beyond 34 degrees full advance (in by 3000 rpm) on my jet-boat. As for the engine, build it for peek power output only, the engine will spin the pump very quickly to whatever it can achieve based on impellor cut and clearence, etc. vs. horsepower (much like a loose converter). For example if you had a Berkeley pump with an AA impellor, it would require 633 hp (@5500) to spin the pump to 5500 rpm, if that is where the engine peaked there would be no way to spin that loaded pump any faster.

cheech