Thread: This Veterans Veterans Day Story

Casanova
    I'm about to put into service a new computer and SBC so I may be off line during Veterans day, so here's my annual story.
    Last year, I wrote the story about my father in WWII that was shot down and brutally treated by our then allies, The Russians.
    OK, I never talk much about combat experiences,, ya couldn't pay me enough to do them again and ya couldn't pay me enough to give them up.
    I was still only 17 years old when I served in Viet Nam.
    I was a 1348 Diesel/Engineer equipment mechanic. High school graduates got to go to the technical schools, and I was one of them. It was diesel engine mechanics.
    The Marine Corp decided to go diesel engine power wherever possible and we were phasing out gasoline powered equipment replacing them with the GMC 71 series fuel injected and blown 2 stroke diesels.
    Ahhh, So what ,, a war was on and Marines are riflemen before they turn a wrench, flap a spatula, beat a drum,, drive a truck,,, your were a combat Marine first.
    In my first month in Viet Nam after attending Mechanics school, fellow marines and I got a back hoe tractor and dug an area several feet deep, wide and long. We placed some cargo containers in it, welded doors between, and with some furniture, electronics and wood,, built a Enlisted mens club on a beach just off Da Nang Harbor.
    We found some local girls to bartend it. They'd bring food & drinks to sell, dance, it was a fun diversion.
    Just when we got to enjoying it,, I got sent out, and inland to a place called Khe Shan.
    Now dig this,, alot of people don't realize that Viet Nam, Thailand and Cambodia are Asian countries with Romanized alphabets.
    Has nothing to do with this story,, but unique none the less, and an advantage to those who'd like to learn the languages.
    OK,, so I get on a Chinook Helecopter with my toolbox, slave jumper cables,, and an M14 rifle.