Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Converting "C" bowl to a split bowl??

skipr
    Can anyone show me some pictures of this process or explain how it is done? I am a machinist and have a good friend who is a fabricator and has the ability to weld aluminum. Thanks for any help.
    Steve

Taylorman
    Get out the popcorn. This is going to be a long one.

Jetmugg
    Commence to cuttin', weldin', grindin', drillin', tappin', and cussin'.

skipr
    Popcorns in the nuker, so have at it. A little more discription would be great. :wink:
    Steve

1tricky1
    Here's a pic of a conversion. I think this is HBjet's bowl. It appears it just a matter of cutting off the end right at the end of the vanes and drilling and tapping holes for a nozzle adaptor or a droop/snoot.
    http://www.***boat.com/image_center/...owl001-med.jpg

Jetmugg
    "It appears it just a matter of cutting off the end right at the end of the vanes and drilling and tapping holes for a nozzle adaptor or a droop/snoot. "
    There's more to it than described above. The "ring" that is drilled and tapped has been welded to a cut-off JC bowl, and the vanes have been welded/extended on the inside of this ring. You definitely need to get the alignment just right.
    I say - if your machining and fabbing skills are good enough, give it a go. You don't have much to lose if it doesn't turn out right. Just buck-up and buy a JG bowl if your conversion doesn't turn out.
    STeve.

Jet Hydro
    Before you waste a lot of time, you might want to give Duane a Call at HTP. He`s always got a few good deals laying around. www.Hi-TechPerformance.com is his web site. look around you might find what your looking for at a price you cant pass up for all the work your going to do on the old bowl.
    It`s just a thought!
    Here`s the link to his used parts::: http://www.hi-techperformance.com/Usedparts.HTM

Jake W
    Wheres CHET???????