Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Help! BBF wont start when hot

riverbound
    My boat starts every time when the motor is cold. But if
    I run it and then turn it off it will not start (the starter will turn very slowly) If I sit for about 10 mins. it will start right up. Any ideas?
    I paid someone $1200 to supposedly fix this problem and it still does it. By the way I have a new gear reduction starter 2 new batts. new ignition system (dist.,cap,coil)
    I have been chasing this problem for 2 years now.

FoMoCo
    Check the Battery Cables! What size are they? Oh ya, make suer your Ground from thye Battery to the block is good also! I had the hot cranking problem for 3 years on my 65 ranchero! It ended up being the cable tah goes from the Solinod to the starter was
    Corroded . Replaced it and it solved the problem!

Jungle Boy
    My brother had the same problem with his 460ci. He ended up doing all sorts of trouble shooting and finally talked to a guy that told him to put another solenoid right at the starter. He also changed a bunch of wiring just to clean things up while he installed the solenoid. After all that, he's never had a problem.

riverbound
    Battery cables are all 2ga. and were replaced in the $1200 the starter has its own solenoid built into it . and I have checked and rechecked all grounds and connections. I have no idea what to do.

Had a similar problem with mine for a while. Turned out to be the starter. Started just fine when cold, but take a run, then try to start it before it cooled down and it would do the old aruh aruh aruh. Just cuz the starters new doesn't necessarily mean it's good. Mine was pretty new at the time (less than a year old).
    Tell ya what...................here's a freebie. Run down to your local Autozone, Schucks, Kraegan or whatever, and get a cheap ass starter. Hook it up and give it a shot. Run it for a day and If it doesn't cure the problem for ya, they'll usually take it back no questions asked.