Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 220/240 Electric outlet

Cole Sanger
    What should I expect to pay in the Phoenix area for an electrician to install a single 220 or 240 outlet in my garage? The electical panel is about 2 feet from where I want the outlet. Anyone have a person they can recommend? I just bought a tig/mic/arc welder from a welding shop. They said it could run on whatever I wanted from 220 on up to 408. I am not looking to use it for a business, just to play with.

al cole'holic
    ..my suggestion to you is doing it yourself...no, seriously
    Is there an existing outlet that you want to convert or is it adding a new outlet??

Cole Sanger
    I am an electronics technician in the semiconductor industry. I don't do electrical panels. It would be a new outlet. I was thinking of having them put in a 4 panel 120 outlet while they were there. I have a 3 car garage with one outlet (not including the outlets for the garage door openers). Sucks.

Scream
    IMO, I'm in So Cal and I'd probably expect to pay $30 to $40 per hour time and materials. You could go to Home Depot or Lowes or whatever and get the breaker (make sure you know which brand) the wire, conduit, outlet, box and cover yourself to make sure you're not gettin hosed. Get the electrician to give you a list of what's necessary and go buy it. And don't let him (her, sorry chicks) clean the garage for 30 or 40 bux/hour. The job done right, taking your time, should be about 2 to 2 1/2 hours.

Jordy
    Originally posted by Cole Sanger
    I am an electronics technician in the semiconductor industry. I don't do electrical panels. It would be a new outlet. I was thinking of having them put in a 4 panel 120 outlet while they were there. I have a 3 car garage with one outlet (not including the outlets for the garage door openers). Sucks.