Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: First Boat, First Post!

OliverM5
    Hey guys.....I just bought a 1977 18' Eliminator bubbledeck with a freshly rebuilt ford 460 and berkeley pump. Took it out for the first time this weekend and had just about everything happen to me.....fire on the headers (towel caught in them), ran out of gas...all in all a good learning experience.
    As a beginner, I have a few questions:
    1) How do I adjust the water intake and waste valves to both get a good water temp and push a right amount of water to the headers?
    2) My headers seem to glow (right before where the water is injected) at night - is this a normal range of heat?
    3) How do I know if the motor is running right (timing, a/f ratio)?
    4) Why do I get styrofoam particles coming out of the stern after a day of boating?
    5) Finally, the motor tops out at about 4800 rpm and somewhere from about 60-65 mph - what is the easiest (and most inexpensive) way to get a good 10 mph out of the boat? I have a standard 460 ford and a stock Berkely pump with no droop, no diverter, etc.....
    Sorry for all the questions, but you guys seem to know your shiznit!

Danhercules
    The foam particals are probally the floation aids under the bow. Some have foam chunks, some have air bags, some have bags filled with foam balls, like a bean bag chair.
    My headers get red hot, I do not run water through them. I will on the new ones.
    The gas issue, I have only done that once or twice.
    Take a reading on your spark plugs. They should not be white.
    I would put a diverter on it 1st. You can trim out the boat, and make a good looking roost.

AdrenelineOD
    Welcome
    you can do what I do. Drop it off at a real pro and pic it up with a pocket wod of $$$. If you do that you will have good days and no money like me.

MudPumper
    Where abouts in LA are you????

OliverM5
    I live in West Los Angeles......thanks for the replies guys - keep 'em coming!

MudPumper