Thread: Open Face Or Full Face Helmet?

Da-Bull
    I am new to the boat scene and need a little advise. I hope to be running in the 10-50 sec. class at the NJBA May Bakersfield run. I have all my saftey gear and am ready to buy a helmet. Can you guy's give me some advise. Any comments or help would be greatly appreciated.

schiada96
    I don't know much about dragboats but I have raced stand up jet ski. We didn't want anything with a visor they would hurt if ya got off.

In my opinion, For what you want to do, I would start with an open face helmet. If you are planning on running 10's or around there and you are new to the scene, the open face helmet gives you a chance to see more around you as well as hear more. The next few months are going to be hot and the open face is much more pleasant than a closed. On the safety side some people say the closed face is the way to go but I disagree. The argument is that you wont get a face full water or the helmet wont act like a bucket and dig into the water. We are required to have neck restraints now and these have helped in many crashes. To me the rub between open and full face is when you are being treated after a crash. I watched a buddy of mine being treated with an open face helmet and they could not remove it from his head. He head the chin strap yanked so tight that they could not get scissors in between to cut the straps. Now if He were unconscious this would have been valuable time before trying to resuscitation. Had he been wearing an open mask, they could have performed CPR with the helmet on. I wear a full face because it limits my vision of the boat in the other lane. Guys that live up near you like Wally wear a full face because they are down right ugly.
    Hope this helps.

schiada96
    Who says your not ugly

My mommy!!:yuk: :yuk:

DetroitJim