Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Timing Question

Taylorman
    I was reading an article in Hot Rod magazine about the new GMPP crate 572" engine. They were trying to make it run on pump gas with 12:1 comp. They backed the timing off from 32-27. I noticed in other articles the author making reference to changing timing. My question is are they referring to the initial timing or total timing with a centrifugal advance. I have an MSD dist which advances. Im just wondering if some set there initial timing this high and have no advance?

RandyH
    Some of us on here lock our timing on the MSD distributors at the total advance. For the life of me I dont know why this works. When I first got my boat it was locked at 35 and it started like a champ. First rotation or two it would fire right off. Then I started playing with a new Carb, etc. , rebuilt the motor and put some intitial in and it wont start worth a darn. I think its a carb issue so this year I will get that nailed.
    But for what its worth running with the timing locked worked for my jet boat. Some people run with ingnition switches. Get the motor turning over and then let it fire. I have heard that works as well.
    Good luck,
    RandyH

HammerDown
    What your looking for is (Total Advance)...true some racers lock out their advance that gives them their total all the time.
    As far as the 572 doing down from 32 to 27, I'm wondering how much Power they lost from the drop. You only want the highest advance # that gives the most power without detonation.
    EX. Don't go 35-38 degrees total (all in by 3000 rpm) if you stoped making power at 30-32.

Taylorman
    I think they lost about 15hp due to the reduced timing.
    So whats the advantage of running locked out timing as opposed to mechanical advance?

Foggerjet