Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: spark plug question

steve@kps
    Infomaniac, or anyone.
    W/ a 454, and a B&M 250 megablower, what spark plug would you recommend?
    thanks.
    steve

Fiat48
    Type of boat? V drive or jet? Peanut plug (5/8 hex) or 3/4" reach 13/16 hex head?

steve@kps
    The plugs that were in it: Champion rv12c. The champion book i have says that plug is for the EFI engines, but is superceded to the rv12yc.
    This book also shows a 525hp supercharged motor using the plug V63C gapped at .035.
    I'm just looking for opinions for the 250megablower plug and whether to go w/ champion or NGK???
    I use a champion racing plug in the dragster, but it's on alcohol.. I have NO experience w/ a blower on gas. Help is appreciated
    steve g.

Fiat48
    I quit using Champion plugs years ago because it seemed that when we got a plug finally mated to an engine, Champion would change the number or discontinuue the plug we were using. The NGK's had the same type of Cad plating and a better selection of heat range.
    I don't have a cross reference from NGK to that Champion number. I would say that if it's the peanut style (14mm taper seat, .460 reach 5/8 hex as I suspect) I would put a BP8FS NGK plug in it. BP5FS is the hottest and BP10FS is the coldest available.
    If it uses 14mm 3/4 reach, 13/16 hex, I would say to use a BP8ES. Same deal of the heat range with a 5 being the hottest and a 10 being the coldest.
    Both plugs are a projected tip which I recommend. There's also a V series race plug NGK has that you can cross these NGK #'s to. If you are used to reading the cad burn on a Champion, then you should be right at home with theses NGK's. My alcohol stuff runs a BP9ES. Hope this helps.

steve@kps
    good information.
    These heads (world products/merlin) do indeed take the 14mm,5/8hex,.460 reach plug
    The champion book calls for a V63c plug, I'm going to find out if your ngk plug crosses to this plug.