Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Need help on boat purchase please.

dmbrazilian
    Hello and thanks for looking at my post. I am new to the boat world and me and my wife have been looking to purchase a boat. We are looking for a nice family boat with some power, we want an open bow and we have no idea as far as what to buy. I don't kown too much about boats and don't know what brand of boat that is good. I would like to find something that is a v8, fuel injected if possible but I have heard different things about the mercruiser and volvos??? I think from what I have heard so far I should go with a mercruiser but maybe you guys can tell me different. I would like to know maybe the top 10 boat names out there so that it can help with my purchase. I want to spend no more then 18,000 on one.
    Thanks for the help
    David

dmbrazilian
    Please help...I really don't know what to get and I realy want to make a purchase this week. I mean I know that cobalt and chaparral are good boats and to probably stay away from bayliner but I want to know about the others....
    Thanks
    David

Infomaniac
    You are looking at new boats?
    No one can offer good advice on a used boat because you cannot predict how it was maintained or driven.
    If you are loking at new boats. Buy the one with the best warranty in your price range.

Seadog
    To get a v8 on a decent sized boat in your range, you had better consider Bayliner or some of the other entry level boats, if you are looking for new. Glastron, Sea Ray and others have decent reps. The main thing is to find a good dealer. BTW, Bayliner had a few bad years a long time ago, but they are a decent entry level boat. Don't discount them.